Furoshiki : Japanese gift wrapping

A thousand-year-old art of Japanese packaging

The use of a cloth to wrap one's belongings dates back to the 8th century during the Nara era. This method was originally used to elegantly store the most precious possessions of Japanese nobility families, notably in the Shōsō in “treasure house”, located in the large Buddhist temple of Todai-ji in the city of Nara.

Subsequently, with the Heian era, this aesthetic folding gradually spread to the upper class and was used mainly for packaging clothing when traveling.

The modern term "Furoshiki" was used a few centuries later and can be translated as "bath mat". He was in fact placed on the ground to deposit and pack clothes before going to the public baths. Now for environmental reasons, it becomes the symbol of Mottainai, a Japanese concept which consists of rejecting waste.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Furoshiki, an ecological and economical packaging

Since the emergence of plastic in the mid-20th century, furoshiki has gradually fallen into disuse. It has been replaced by plastic bags or single-use packaging.

Preserving the environment has sparked interest in returning to less polluting packaging. An ecological fabric with healthy standards for humans is undoubtedly more appropriate. In this sense, the furoshiki is the perfect packaging. You can reuse it as you like, you can wash it at will. It exists in different colors and patterns. For parties or birthdays, it will be perfect for wrapping your gifts to offer.

In addition, it will be quite possible for you to offer it in addition to the gift.

As you will have understood, buying or giving a furoshiki is a gesture that makes sense for the preservation and safeguard of the planet.

The furoshiki wrapped around your present will either be returned after unpacking or kept with the gift. The person who receives it gives it to another person of their choice or keeps it as an accessory for their entire life, and so on. This is the principle of the circular economy.

A fabric for life

There are special techniques for folding the fabric. The pounding techniques are quite easy. You will find plenty of examples on the Internet, depending on what you plan to pack or even transport.

As the furoshiki is made with a strong fabric, you will be able to pack and transport books, plants, bottles, etc. You will not fail to create an effect of surprise thanks to this ecological, original and committed gift package. As the holidays approach, for a Christmas present, it will be the essential packaging accessory. Imagine this fabric gift wrapping placed near the tree the day after Christmas Eve. You can also acquire a bulk bag or a tote bag to pack and transport your personal effects on a daily basis.

Why buy a furoshiki from Saguita?

You are buying a product that is good for your health. Saguita respects standards preserving and reducing the risks for your skin. The purchased Furoshiki will be machine washable and will not pollute the environment. In addition, you will benefit from craftsmanship. At Saguita, we take the greatest care in the realization of our products.

Furoshiki : emballage cadeau japonais 

Un art millénaire de l’emballage japonais

L’utilisation d'une étoffe pour emballer ses biens remonte au 8e siècle lors de l’ère Nara. Cette méthode était utilisée à l’origine pour entreposer élégamment les biens les plus précieux des familles de la noblesse japonaise, notamment dans le Shōsō in « maison du trésor », situé dans le grand temple bouddhiste du Todai-ji dans la ville de Nara.

Par la suite, avec l’ère Heian, ce pliage esthétique se répand progressivement dans la classe supérieure et est utilisé principalement pour empaqueter les vêtements lors des voyages.

Le terme moderne « Furoshiki » a été utilisé quelques siècles plus tard et peut se traduire par « tapis de bain ». Il était en effet placé au sol pour déposer et emballer les vêtements avant de se rendre dans les bains publics. Maintenant par souci environnemental, il devient le symbole du Mottainai, concept japonais qui consiste au rejet du gaspillage.

Furoshiki, un emballage écologique et économique

Depuis l’émergence du plastique au milieu du 20e siècle, le furoshiki tombe graduellement en désuétude. Il a été remplacé pas les sacs en plastique ou les emballages à usage unique. 

La préservation de l’environnement a suscité l’intérêt du retour à des emballages moins polluants. Un tissu écologique aux normes saines pour l’homme est sans doute plus approprié. En ce sens, le furoshiki est l’emballage parfait. Vous pouvez le réutiliser à votre guise, vous pouvez le laver à volonté. Il existe en différents coloris et motifs. Pour des fêtes ou des anniversaires, il conviendra parfaitement pour emballer vos cadeaux à offrir.

De plus, il vous sera tout à fait possible de l’offrir en plus du cadeau. 

Vous l’aurez compris, acheter, offrir un furoshiki, c’est un geste qui a du sens pour la préservation et la sauvegarde de la planète.

 

Le furoshiki enveloppant votre présent sera soit rendu après déballage, soit gardé avec le cadeau. La personne qui l’aura reçu le donne à une autre personne de son choix ou le garde comme accessoire pour toute sa vie, et ainsi de suite. C’est le principe de l’économie circulaire.

 

Un tissu pour la vie

Il y a des techniques particulières pour plier le tissu. Les techniques de pilage sont assez faciles. Vous trouverez plein d’exemples sur Internet, selon ce que vous comptez emballer, voire transporter. 

Comme le furoshiki est confectionné avec un tissu résistant, il vous sera possible d’emballer et de transporter, des livres, des plantes, des bouteilles, etc. Vous ne manquerez pas de créer un effet de surprise grâce à ce paquet cadeau écologique, original et engagé. À l’approche des fêtes, pour un cadeau de Noël, il sera l’accessoire d’emballage indispensable. Imaginez cet emballage cadeau en tissu posé près du sapin au lendemain du réveillon. Vous pouvez également acquérir un sac à vrac ou un tote bag pour emballer et transporter quotidiennement vos effets personnels. 

 

Pourquoi acheter un furoshiki chez Saguita ?

Vous achetez un produit bon pour votre santé. Saguita respecte les normes préservant et diminuant les risques pour votre peau. Le Furoshiki acheté sera lavable en machine et ne polluera pas l’environnement. De plus, vous bénéficierez d’un travail artisanal. Chez Saguita, nous apportons le plus grand soin à la réalisation de nos produits.

  • Facebook Social Icon

© 2018 Création de Saguita tous droits reservés